Here, have a cookie

object of beauty2

I bought my first set of pots and pans this week – it feels like there’s little more grown-up than buying your own cookware to start off a new school year. To be fair I’m only going to be living in an on campus apartment, but it’s miles difference from having to live in a dorm. (Having lived in a dorm since I was a junior in high school, I can’t say that I’m looking to extend the experience.) For once I feel like I have my school supplies under control and aside from a few more kitchen items I need (plus an eventual trip for groceries closer to the date), there’s not much left I have to do other than actually pack everything so that they can be lugged back to uni.

Anyways, I just finished re-reading An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin. I’d read it first during spring break during the breaks I took from editing my portfolio, but I found myself able to really sink my teeth into the book this time around, with nothing to distract me. If you haven’t read it and you have an interest in art history, as I do, then you should definitely check it out. Bonus: there are twenty-two colour reproductions of some of the art work mentioned in the book that only adds to the appeal.

12 comments
  1. There’s nothing like a handful of cookies to accompany a good book. I need to make more time in my schedule to sit down and read!

    And I definitely felt all grown up when I bought my first set of pots and pans. It changes EVERYTHING. :P

    JennifHsieh

    • Krys said:

      Definitely taking advantage of it while I can (I know that once school starts I won’t have the time to read as leisurely until January.) Hope you’re able to find a nice book to read!

  2. D said:

    That’s a really cool phone case!

    • Krys said:

      Thanks! Picked it up on the fly while I was hanging out in Chinatown

  3. Giovanna said:

    Cookies and a book?! Love it! It’s a whole different world leaving the dorm! Don’t you just love it?!

    xx
    Giovanna
    http://www.HeyLoveBlog.com

    • Krys said:

      Such a good combination, right? Especially on a rainy day. It’s going to be so weird not stopping by the dining hall for a bite and such, but I’m really looking forward to how different it’s going to be (I’m sure I’ll love it ^^)

  4. Ok so it is not arty or the most intellectual of books but I just finished reading “The Liar, The Bitch and The Wardrobe” Very fun snarky read.

    Ali of

    Dressing Ken

    • Krys said:

      Fun and snarky sounds like a good combination away from the seriousness of some books, I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the rec (:

  5. rooth said:

    Krys, you know I’ve been reading like mad – let me know if there are any specific recommendations you’d like. I’ve got some particularly good ones to share from this summer

    • Krys said:

      Will do! I’m definitely looking forward to seeing your monthly reads for this month, in the meanwhile.

  6. Julia said:

    New cookware! This is really a momentous occasion. I hope you find whipping up a few yummy meals in your own place as exciting as it should be!

    • Krys said:

      Definitely been working on getting the hang of finding time to make my own meals, but it’s been so rewarding by the end of the week to have eaten my own things (:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers