Allegro

(Photograph by Rolex/ Fadil Berisha for yujawang.com)

Sorry for the lack of posts this weekend– I’ve had a cough since Wednesday that has only gotten worse since then and I now have probably the worst cold I’ve had in two years. However, this afternoon I did manage to drag myself out of bed and attend a recital at the Performing Arts Center by Yuja Wang, a few days before she is set to debut at Carnegie Hall.

Throughout high school I had many required events to attend that displayed musicians, but I’ve never been to a recital like this before. She was absolutely amazing, playing five selections from Alexander Scriabrin (Prelude in B Major, op. 11, no. 11; Prelude in B Minor, op. 12, no. 6; Prelude in G-sharp Minor, op. 11, no. 12; Etude in G-sharp Minor, op. 8, no. 9; Poeme in F-sharp Major, op. 32, no.1), Sonata no. 6 in A Major, op. 82 by Sergei Prokofiev, and Sonata in B Minor by Frank Liszt. She also played three encores, although if you asked me what pieces they were, I would not be able to tell you.

Her choices for outfits was also admirable; her first outfit was a black one-shouldered evening gown with ruching on one side and a slit up the other side, black opaque tights, and platform stilettos. Her second outfit was a much more daring red evening gown that had a cutout in the back and jewel detailing on the criss-crossed straps. Once again she also wore platform stilettos. I admit that I was really intrigued to see what she would be wearing, in addition to her recital itself, as she’s know to wear really controversial outfits when she performs.

There are videos at her official site, so please check them out; you won’t be disappointed!

A truly great recital and I’m so glad that I ignored my sickness to see it; if all of the performances at the Performing Arts Center are like this then I don’t know how I’m going to fit it all into my schedule.

Have a good week!

8 comments
  1. nice photo:) wish you have a good week too, and hope you are feeling better soon!

  2. Do you play piano? I used to in addition to the violin but I was too lazy to practice especially scales which I hated. HAhaha.. I like how you noticed what she wore too. 😛

    • Ah, I used to, but I haven’t in a few years…actually in high school I switched to handbell choir, haha. It was really difficult not to! According to my friends who are music majors, it’s usually something to look forward to as much as her actual playing (:

  3. anisa said:

    Such a pretty picture, I love the matching, it really adds a certain POP! You look great! xxAnisa

    • Haha, it’s not me– it’s the renowned pianist Yuja Wang 😀

Leave a Reply

