Nineteen

Now entering my last year of being a teenager…there’s something very weird, but very exciting about that at the same time. Eighteen was such an interesting year, I’m hoping that being nineteen won’t disappoint.

Compared to last year it was a pretty low-key birthday. I went to see a performance by the Budapest Symphony Orchestra at the Performing Arts Center. Starting with Hungarian Peasant Songs, Sz.100 (BB107) by Bartok, the orchestra moved into the Fantasy-Overture from Romeo and Juliet by Tchaikovsky, ending with Symphony no.9 in C Major, Great by Schubert. I really find that European orchestras play quite differently then American ones and it is also nice to hear some classical music on a quiet Sunday afternoon especially after the snow from the day before.

In the evening my parents and sister came and took me out to dinner, complete with the waiters singing their own rendition of happy birthday. I used to find it super embarrassing when I was a kid and in a lot of ways, I still do, but now it’s not as bad since I haven’t been living fully at home for four years.

Happy Halloween! Everyone should try to go trick-or-treating despite the snow or your age because it’s fun (:

10 comments
  1. Jen said:

    Happy belated birthday and Happy Halloween! I haven’t went to see a live performance of an orchestra in a really, really long time. I love the pieces they performed and I wish I could’ve been there! Sounds like you spent your birthday in such a lovely way 🙂

    • Thanks! Yeah, we’re really lucky because there are different types of performances every weekend that are mostly open to the public, but on Fridays there are rush ticket sales for the students haha.

  2. Sam said:

    Wow it seems like such a long time ago when I last said “this is my last year being a teenager.” considering I’m borderline a quarter century year old…
    So TREASURE IT and eat lots of ice cream with whipped cream!

  3. nuha said:

    happy birthday! i hope 19 treats you well. that dessert looks delish!

Leave a Reply

