Makeshift Studio

When faced with finishing drawing homework at 2am, desperate times call for desperate measures. If you ever wondered how I actually draw, this is (mostly) it; we started using charcoal last week and thus, have finally been able to start shading. Although charcoal is a harder medium to control, I find it a better medium than pencil, if only because one can finally see what I’m drawing as my touch is far too light with a pencil- so light that when hung up on the wall, the pencil drawings appear “invisible.”

Happy Thursday!

8 comments
  1. Sam said:

    I’m not a huge fan of charcoal predominantly because it’s quite a messy medium compared to pencil although it has this kind of carefree texture to it that can’t be achieved with the narrow point of a pencil!

    • I’m not sure when I started to like charcoal, but I definitely agree about the messiness! (Each class I come back looking like I was a chimney sweep in Mary Poppins.)

  2. this is an awesome drawing! love this image.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

