Let’s Go

(Fireflies on the Water by Yayoi Kusama, c. 2002)

As an art student one of the nicest things about living in New York is being in such close proximity to some brilliant art museums such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Modern Museum of Art. (Some retrospects I’ve seen this year include Willem de Kooning, Diego Velazquez, and Cindy Sherman.) NYC is also home to the Whitney Museum which is currently undergoing renovations but has nonetheless continued to put together some interesting exhibitions. This summer from 12 July-30 September, the Whitney Museum is having a retrospective on Japanese contemporary artist Yayoi Kusama.

I first encountered Kusama during my year abroad while I was busy making art history presentations for the year twelve TEE students. Kusama is well-known for her use of  polka dot patterns and intense, large-scale environments that show a concern for imaginary and almost psychedelic constructions of space. I actually can’t wait to see her work in person (artwork is always better seen in person, no exceptions) especially the special showing of her installation Fireflies on the Water which is reminiscent to her previous installation Infinity Mirror Room for the Tate Modern in London.

If anyone is in the NYC area next month and would like to visit the retrospective together, drop me a mention on Twitter or leave a comment– it would definitely be nice to hear others feedback on the exhibit. For more information, visit the Whitney Museum’s official site here. Hope everyone is finding time to check out some great artwork this summer, no matter where you live!!

6 comments
  1. alicia said:

    Ugh, I regret choosing the Guggenheim over the Whitney on my last museum hike. There was some type of folk art installation exhibit at the Doo-dooheim (which I renamed because it felt like such a colossal waste of time and money), and then someone had the nerve to fart inside the tiny elevator that takes you back down to the bottom. I swear, if the architecture of the building itself wasn’t so beautiful, I would’ve demanded a refund.

    • Hm, I’ve never frequented the Guggenheim (although having taken contemporary art history courses her name has only been pounded into my head over and over), but that does not sound like it was a pleasant experience at all! Thank god the architecture saved it, even if only a little bit.

  2. xixia said:

    Woah, that is really cool. I am hopefully visiting New York next month, so if I do, I will definitely have to check out the Whitney. I’ve only ever been to the Met while there, to see Alexander McQueen’s Savage Beauty exhibit (and that was amazing).
    Thanks for the informative post! 🙂
    ♥ xixia
    visit my new blog?: thisisxixia.com

    • Ah, I hope your plans definitely come through! The McQueen exhibit was one I was so gutted to have missed out on (I was overseas at the time), but currently they have an exhibition exploring themes between Schiaparelli and Prada that sounds quite interesting. Something else to add to your museum visit list next month perhaps? (:

  3. WOW that photo is incredible!!! ❤ I know you've been really busy so don't worry about it ^^ But hopefully we have time to catch up soon! We should probably add eachother on Facebook? 😮 Maybe it would be easier to stay in touch there? xx

Leave a Reply

