Collection of Missing Owners

Completed. Each postcard is 6 x 4 inches. Cyanotype, navy silkscreen ink, BFK paper.

I would be hard pressed to tell you exactly when I made this; I think it was around midterms (March??) and it’s very possible this was my midterm project? Some of the parts I was able to scan upon completion and others were photographed at a later date. Anyways. My focus had transformed from tangled to absence and I decided to explore the aspect of absence at home.

The images are blue because of a process called cyanotype which uses paper coated with light-sensitive chemicals to create the photographs. The ‘lost/found’ text repeats on the back of every image, dead center, and the poem on the box is an English translation of an old Chinese poem by Li Bai. All of the text is silkscreened. I was (still am) very pleased with the outcome of the piece as it was the first assignment that we were using image and text together and the hunt for the ever-elusive, perfect words to use had left me a crazed mess that weekend.

Like most things, these look hundreds of times better in person.

7 comments
  1. denise said:

    Amazing! This is really cool. I bet it looks great in person, the texture looks so good. Good job!

Leave a Reply

