Colour Pop

When I was in middle school, my mother went through this huge redecorating phase where the biggest project was painting every room in the house. Not entirely odd in theory, but more interesting when people come to visit and realize that every room is a different colour. The living room is peach, the front hallway is salmon, etc.– things I thought were quite pretty until recently when I realized there were no white walls anywhere .

Everyone will be getting to know the floor of my house very well soon.

This is a dress I bought a few weeks ago when I was recovering from a cold. Β It’s a shift dress, has three-quarter length sleeves, and clashes horribly in every part of the house. Tomorrow, the family and I are driving upstate (my sister has college orientation.) I’m prepared to mingle with everyone who is getting the first taste of having their children living away from home or, if you’re like my parents, people who have done this before, to which this is old hat material.

8 comments
  1. xixia said:

    Cute cute cute! I think color blocked dresses are one of the best things ever. They’re just so chic and, well, colorful. ^^
    Anyways, hahah, your house sounds kinda awesome with all the differently colored rooms. I like it! My mom goes through this thing where she can’t let the house stay the same for too long, so she changes something major at least once a month, like the wall colors or the furniture positions. πŸ˜„
    Have fun with your family at the orientation!!
    ♥ xixia

    • Before this I’ve never had a colour blocked dress (I had a gray/black blocked dress…but that rather lacks the colour portion, heh.) That sounds super cool and must be nice if you look through photographs and see the changes over the years! Thank you! xx

    • It’s definitely an interesting thing my mother decided to undergo haha xx

  2. well that is a beautiful top! my house is just plain white/cream…. it’s sad honestly, haha.
    love the idea of multicolored houses… so BRIGHT AND CHEERY!

    xx

    • Definitely bright and cheery! I think it’s such a surprise too, because the outside of the house is a shade of gray-white (:

  3. haha, my family went through that phase also. And then subsequently painted over every room a vanilla color πŸ˜› it’s good to stay classy but being bold is refreshing! just stumbled upon your blog and I really love it!
    x

    D a n i e l l e | daniellewu.com
    ps. I am hosting a giveaway on my blog and I would love it if you won! πŸ™‚ Enter to win artwork by Mui-ko!

    • Thank you! Haha, I think I could settle for one white wall somewhere for photography sake, but otherwise it’s quite lovely to wake up to, that’s for sure (:

Leave a Reply

