Black and White

WIP. 7×7 inches. Charcoal powder, Charcoal pencil, BFK Rives paper.

Some work-in-progress photographs from my first assignment for Extended Media. (It struck me that perhaps I should use the scanner more often for better quality images, so something to try again next time.) We learned a very basic book binding technique in the first class last week and had to create a small, themed book using that method. My theme was “ebb” or the process of flowing away.

I’ve been feeling really impressed with people who are able to continually blog with a busy school schedule and after disappearing off the face of the earth for the past week, I’m hoping that I can find more time to post. Remember to please follow me on Twitter! So far my courses this semester are off to a good start and while I have no particular opinion about my studio courses yet, I do know that I’m quite enjoying my Sense and Perception psychology class, considering that I’m usually very ‘meh’ about science courses.

Have a good rest of the week with lots of lovely weather! (It was 60˚F today in mid-state New York! Winter who?)

24 comments
  1. like these pictures, hope you have a great time there!

  2. Dana said:

    Those are so beautiful 🙂

  3. qinn said:

    nice ❤ love your posts!

  4. Tania said:

    always love your collages! this one is like a modern alice in wonderland on charcoal acid! Brilliant

  5. Lily said:

    Beautiful.
    Take a look at my blog, you may like and want to follow, I would be sooo happy!
    secretsofa-girl.blogspot.com

    xxxx
    Lily

    • Thank you, I’ll definitely check out your site when I get the chance! (:

  6. HOLY SHIT THIS IS JUST STUNNING WORK. ❤ You are so talented and I really adore the concept you've chosen! I can't wait to see more of your artwork Krys 🙂

    Jennifer

    • Your words move me, Jennifer! Thanks for your kind comments and I’m glad that you like it (umm I want to see some of yours too!) ❤

  7. Jess said:

    Great work – love the mix of mediums

  8. oh wow love your work! can’t wait to see the final results!

  9. Wow, you are super talented! I wish I had skills like you 🙂 Your assignment is beautiful! It sounds like you’ve got some fun classes in your courseload, good luck with the rest of the semester!

    • Awe, thanks for such a lovely comment Kristine! So far, so good, lots of perception learning in everything (: Thanks again!

  10. This is absolutely gorgeous! You are so talented.

Leave a comment